Anglia Ruskin honours top names

10th of October, 2010 Bookmark and Share
Anglia Ruskin honours champions from all sectors

Rt Hon The Lord Hattersley, Umar Khan Alisherzai, Sir Robin Saxby, Reverend Canon Ivor Moody, Stephen Welfare, Lynne Berry OBE and Peter Nardone all collect honorary awards

Anglia Ruskin University has celebrated the first of three days of graduation (5, 6 and 7 October).

Anglia Ruskin University’s Vice Chancellor Professor Michael Thorne said: ‘These hard working and determined graduates have done exceptionally well and they and their families should be very proud of their impressive academic achievements. We wish them every success in their chosen careers or onward educational pursuits and hope that they will aim to achieve great things in life, like our distinguished honorary graduates have who are will be joining us to collect their awards.’

Seven honorary awards were presented to leading figures in recognition of their outstanding achievements during the various ceremonies.

The ever-popular Rt Hon The Lord Hattersley received an Honorary Doctor of Letters award for his career as a distinguished politician, historian and broadcaster.

For over fifty years, Roy Hattersley has had an active and highly significant career at the heart of British politics. From 1964 to 1992 he was a Labour Member of Parliament. He first entered Parliament as the Labour MP for Birmingham Sparkbrook in 1964.

Umar Khan Alisherzai, the Ambassador of Pakistan to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, received an Honorary Doctor of Education award for his services to international education.
While he oversees the interests of the one and a half-million strong Pakistani community who live and work in Saudi Arabia, he is also passionate about building a democratic Pakistan, not only to improve its economic fortunes via improvements in international relations, but also to improve health, welfare and education options.

Sir Robin Saxby received an Honorary Doctor of Technology award for his services to the information technology industry. He is a highly respected engineer, manager and entrepreneur.

Reverend Canon Ivor Moody received an Honorary Fellowship from Anglia Ruskin University. He is the newly-installed Vice Dean and Canon Pastor of Chelmsford Cathedral. Formerly Canon Moody was the Chaplain of the Chelmsford campus of Anglia Ruskin University for almost 14 years.

Stephen Welfare received an Honorary Doctor of Science award for his achievements in healthcare. Deputy Chief Executive and Director of Workforce with NHS East of England, he was previously the Chief Executive of the Essex Workforce Development Confederation and has held Board level positions with four NHS Organisations.

Lynne Berry OBE received an Honorary Doctor of Health Science award for her inspiring role within the Third Sector. She is Chief Executive of WRVS – a major national charity that enables older people to get more out of life by providing a range of practical services, powered by around 2 500 staff and 55 000 volunteers.

Her services to the social care sector were recognised in 2006 when she was awarded an OBE and it is for her continuing and inspiring role with the Third Sector that we recognise her today.

Peter Nardone received an Honorary Doctor of Arts award for his immense contribution to music and the arts.

alison baker
Alison Baker